About Us

The Scientific and Technological Research Division was established in 1964 for (i) coordination and implementation of national science and technology policy; (ii) promotion and coordination of research and utilization of the results of research; (iii) development, production and utilization of nuclear energy; and (iv) coordination of utilization of scientific and technological manpower. The Division was administratively responsible for National Science Council, the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, the Atomic Energy Commission and the Space and Upper Atmospheric Research Committee.

The Ministry of Science and Technology (MoST) has been functioning since 1972. It is the national focal point and enabling arm of Government of Pakistan for planning, coordinating and directing efforts; to initiate and launch scientific and technological programs and projects as per national agenda for sound and sustainable S&TR base for the socio-economic development, to achieve the vision for a better Pakistan, in terms of the mandate contained in Schedule-II of the Federal Government Rules of Business 1973.

From the areas of industrial development to renewable energy and rural development, the Ministry suggests technological development for higher growth-rates and to improve standards of living. Its principal focus is on building Pakistan's technological competence in the 21st century as we enter new markets, developing a larger pool of human resources to reverse brain drain, and for integrating the existing technological infrastructure for strengthening of technology institutions, effective governance of S&TR and enhancing the capacity of indigenous innovation systems.

The Division is headed by a Secretary; its establishment has a sanctioned strength of 176 personnel and 17 on development side. The work is divided amongst Administration & Finance Wings and five technical wings; namely, (i) Policy & Coordination, (ii) the Planning & Development, (iii) the Technology, (iv) the International Liaison, and (v) the Electronics Wing. Efforts to consolidate achievements in the priority areas included: Human-Resource Development; Transfer of Technology from R&D Institutions and Universities to Industry; Food & Agriculture; Analytical Centers for Industrial Analysis, Industrialization, Health, Electronics, Ocean Resources, New Materials, Biotechnology, Textiles, and Pharmaceuticals.